What I Eat in a Day

One of my best friends suggested that I document what I eat in a day. I thought this was a very cool idea to see how much and what I put into my body. So, here it is!

Breakfast

They say breakfast should be your biggest meal, but not being a morning person to start with has gotten me to the habit of a quick fix. I usually eat the ‘typical Filipino’ breakfast of egg and rice but when my mom doesn’t cook it in the morning, I usually make myself oatmeal. I used to eat oatmeal with sugar but since changing my diet, I started using natural foods as sweeteners such as bananas with the addition of goji berries & pumpkin seeds for that extra crunch. I cook it with lactose-free milk as it becomes tastier and has more texture.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Lunch

My lunch meals are almost never repetitive. I’m usually out for lunch because of meet-ups or since I’ve been busy, I don’t have time to make my food. But today, I was able to make a salad.

When I eat salads, I like to add lots of different textures and tasteful ingredients. I usually opt out from using dressings because they are counterintuitive of the idea of having a salad. They have lots of calories and is processed food.

I found vegetable rotini and wanted to try out. It’s delicious! The addition of chickpeas, cucumber, carrot and greens was what was available in our kitchen so I used these as garnish.
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSnack

Contrary to popular belief, I don’t always eat healthy. In times of stress or random cravings, I go out with friends for desserts. In between classes, I went to Analog with a friend to have an almond croissant and soy latte.

It’s a misconception that lactose intolerant people cannot consume dairy products at all. This is false as we actually can, although not to excessive amounts. Personally, I cannot consume heavy, dairy based desserts such as cheesecake, cheese itself and neither milk.

It’s a pity cafés don’t carry lactose-free milk because soy is full of sugars, but what else can a lactose intolerant person have besides soy/almond milk?

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES When reading, I like to have tea. My favourite spot is Oolong Tea House!SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESDinner:

As good as it would be to eat all things healthy, being Filipino and loving the cuisine, would not allow me to be so. Or rather, I would not allow myself to be so. For dinner, I often have home cooked meals by my awesome chef of a mom!  We always have a main dish and rice to go with it. For tonight, it was chicken in tamarind soup with romaine lettuce.
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESI hope you liked this post as much as I enjoyed documenting it. It was nice to see what I consumed in a day and how well it has shown me how far I’ve come. If this was years ago, it would be larger proportions, unhealthier choices and lots of junk food. I’m so happy I was able to change my diet, and overall lifestyle, because it feels good at the end of the day.

A plus tard et avec l’amour!

Leave a Reply

