Market Collective’s 6th Year

Market Collective was established in 2008 to promote local arts and culture. After moving out of Calgary in 2006 and returning this year, the city has undergone great progress. I’ve found that there is improvement in establishing connectedness between Calgarians because events such as Market Collective aid in doing so. It’s always nice to be part of a good community!
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I’m all about great finds and vintage. There were a few stalls of shoes and clothing, but I ended up buying from Joyce’s Closet. Joyce, the owner, is an absolute dear! She has a good eye and seems to be very knowledgable about fashion. As usual, I won’t be showing what I bought until I wear it!

 SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES 


But it’s not only all about shopping in Market Collective. There is food, food and more food! What I love about food trucks is their menus are so innovative and made for sharing. My friend and I decided to order from Yummi Yogis and Waffles & Chix. I highly recommend the regular Waffle & Chix and the Goji Strawberry Protein Smoothie! We overestimated our appetite that we had leftovers to bring home.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

We ate in front of the stage and listening to Kirsten Ludwig was pure eargasm! I loved her hauntingly beautiful, soft voice and fashion sense! It was a pity I couldn’t stay for the rest of her performance. Her music is definitely on my list of ‘albums to buy’!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES


Though I knew I was not to leave without purchasing earrings. Since getting my hair cut short, I’ve been wanting studs to complete my outfits. When my friend and I saw Adrian Martinus‘ artwork made from recycled materials, we were in awe of his artistry. Each piece of furniture or jewelry (which was made in collaboration with Anne Tranholm), was well executed. I was particularly fond of this table, but I have no space for it in my room, nor money to even purchase it. Instead, I bought two, cool studs that I am very excited to wear! 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I had so much fun looking around and it was a nice way to spoil myself for the last time this summer. I am now back to work and saving money shall commence! I will definitely come back again next year to empty my pockets, fill my stomach and backpack home some goods.

A plus tard et avec l’amour!

 

Leave a Reply

