The Art of Fashion

Since forever, I have always been attentive of fashion, though not to the extent of its history and artistry. I suppose that while I was growing up, the element of fashion that I most enjoyed was the business itself and how I, as a consumer, interacted with it. Trying to express and find my identity through clothing and being up-to-date with trends was what I focused heavily on in my teenage years. To this day, I still enjoy the component of styling in fashion, but have recently begun to appreciate beyond that: from history to artistry.

I am a huge advocate of aiming to break the misconception that fashion is overpriced vanity. Fashion is more than that: it is art, have always been and should continue to be. From hours spent on beading and embroidery, to meticulously choosing between fabrics and colours that fit its client perfectly to exude confidence and expression, is art. Many may not appreciate haute couture, but I have utmost respect for haute couture designers for their artistry, skills and individuality.

With this said, I hope more people see fashion as art and more designers treat it same. Even though fashion is also a business, it should not mean that a designer label should be enough justification for its price. A cotton tee costing 20 times its fabric price because it has a designer label attached, is reason why the misconception of fashion as overpriced vanity still lingers.

Reading through my daily dose of Bloglovin’, I came across Fashionista’s post about Bill Cunningham’s opinion of the fashion industry and with utmost respect, was nodding in agreement to his every word, most especially about the Red Carpet! I greatly urge you to read it!

The fashion industry should just move on from high school for acting like a popularity contest. I hope it recovers from ‘wanting more money’ and ‘finding the most popular celebrities for our campaign’ syndromes and instead, focus on re-establishing the artistry of the industry. Though to those fashion houses and designers that keep the name of fashion reputable with their artistry, I have utmost respect for!

A plus tard et avec l’amour!

Leave a Reply

