Day 1: Mo(u)rning, New York!

When it comes to our yearly family travels, I can never fall asleep the night prior due to the excitement! Luckily, I was able to ‘break’ the curse and indulge in 4 hours of sleep. Our flight was at 7 a.m. so my sister bought me Starbucks for that needed caffeine. But as a coffee snob, I opted out from the usual, screeching, burnt milk and settled for an English Breakfast tea.
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

          We had a 3.5 hour connection flight to Toronto, long enough to start a movie. The last time I intended to watch Princess Mononoke was months ago and since it was the only video I had on my laptop, I decided to watch it with my eldest sister. As riveting as it was, sleep was fighting against the action and we agreed to take a rest instead. Though that wasn’t easy to achieve because the seats were quite uncomfortable. Or rather, the headrest was oddly shaped.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

1) V-neck tee: GAP | 2) Trousers: Nümph | 3) Flats: ZARA

After one too many flights in my lifetime, I was best dressed for this trip in terms of comfort. Besides the fact that I was wearing all black in an ~80F (might as well act American xD), I was at the very least comfortable! Fun fact: I was pulled in for a body scan for the first time and I wasn’t fond of it.


I have yet to see all of New York but from a brief glimpse after our drive from the airport to New Jersey, mainly exposed to the streets of Brooklyn and Chinatown, it was quite the culture shock. There was graffiti in most buildings, many old and torn, and the streets were bustling with cars and people, as if I was in the Philippines. Cars were very close together, traffic lights were useless because traffic was directed by police, people jaywalked in all directions and I’ve never heard so much honking in my life! On average, we spent ~10 minutes to pass through each block because it was that congested. Claustrophobia did not belong in this city.
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES As much as I love all things Canadian, aka including Timmies, I have always been a loyal supporter of Dunkin’. Growing up, my mom used to work in a franchise back home and we were showered with diabetes filled treats! Those were the days that our bodies could afford to have a sweet tooth.SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESEven if I did not manage to finish Breakfast at Tiffany’s due to its incompatibility with my preferences, I was in awe when I saw these apartments! I have always loved the concept of old, but well-kept and charming buildings. A little past from where I took this photo, there was an obvious divide between Chinatown and Manhattan. Manhattan seemed like a gem and in the next few days, I will be there to visit. We shall see the rest of New York then!SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESA plus tard et avec l’amour!

Leave a Reply

