Music Recommendation of the Week: Lucy Rose

Scan 3

My fan art

Lucy Rose is an English, indie folk singer-songwriter who released her first album in September 2012. I came across her music when searching for new artists through YouTube. I was captivated (with a hint of jealousy) by her crystal clear voice and mostly acoustic songs. 

British artists differ immensely from American artists. I find that they have more intimate lyrics and attempt to showcase their voices, rather than be overshadowed by the instrumental background. As much as I can appreciate the technicality in Adele’s big voice, I was never a fan of that sort of style. I find better appreciation in soft, unique voices such as that of Lucy Rose. Her enunciation and style in singing is definitely inspiring and something I strive to achieve. If she were a male artist, she would be comparable to Dallas Green!

It’s a pity that I’ve not seen her live yet, although I’m positive that I would be on the look out for her next tour schedule. 


Favourite songs and lines:

1) Shiver: And I loved the way you looked at me
And I miss the way you made me feel
When we were alone
When we were alone

2) Be Alright: It’s taken me a while to tell you
Exactly how I feel inside
The words, they seem so simple right now
But they took a while to find

3) Night Bus: She takes the night bus home
She’s not faced by the darkness in her soul

4) Gamble: And you said to me
Can’t we work it out?
Won’t you talk to me?
What’s this all about?

5) First: You’ve got that way of making me feel
Oh so scared and safe at once
I didn’t know that this was real

Website: http://www.lucyrosemusic.com/

Come back for next week’s recommendation! Sorry I missed last week’s. I was very busy.

A plus tard et avec l’amour!

Leave a Reply

