Music Recommendation of the Week: Hey Rosetta!

2

My fan art

Hey Rosetta! is a six-member indie rock band from St. Johns Newfoundland and Labrador, led by Tim Baker. I first heard Hey Rosetta! when searching for new music in the internet. What captivated my attention was the unique transitions and eventual blending of various instruments: from electric and acoustic guitars, mandolin, piano, drums, cello, the violin and to the unexpected tinkling of the xylophone.

Tim Baker, who is (ehmm) such a beau, is the lead singer. His voice is charmingly masculine with an incredible range and dynamics, switching effortlessly from low to high notes. But on certain songs where some of the members harmonize or play backing vocals, it becomes pure eargasm.

Their songs are mostly danceable but ironically, contrasts with the usual melancholy and poetically inclined lyrics. Thus, it’s no surprise that I’m such a fan.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Hey Rosetta! at Calgary Folk Fest 2014

Just last week, I was able to see them for the first time at Calgary Folk Festival. I was in awe, jaw dropped (figuratively) at their incredible, lively stage presence. The balance of sounds resonating from their instruments, perfect in volume from each, was music to my ears (well duh…). On occasion, Tim encouraged the crowd to sing along and guess who poured their heart out? Who cared about the embarrassment I must’ve received from doing so? The sing along was well worth the confused looks, especially when they played my favourite, Bandages! I cannot wait to see them again!


Favourite songs and lines:

1) Carry Me Home: “But I’d give my food and drink
To see my home again
To see my mother’s hand
Against her apron edge.”

2) Yer Spring: “Am I rising up?”

3) Young Glass: “Even though – I thought I was – all alone – I was wrong
Even though – I thought I was – all alone – I am not.”

4) Red Heart: “Were you born a closed book,
full of secret lines? (and bound so tight)
or did you learn to lock it,
as not to break your spine? (oh! you were bound so tight)
Cause you shut up
and you’re all shut inside.”

5) A Thousand Suns: “These are twisted times when trust and truth collide
When a stranger’s love could make your heart explode
I want to give it all back!”

6) Bandages: “That half of the bed
Empty like a page
All the cursive claims you’ve yet to make.”

Website: http://www.heyrosetta.com/

Come back for next week’s recommendation!

A plus tard et avec l’amour!

 

Leave a Reply

