Homme Pour Le Jour: Inspired by Menswear

With my new haircut, I have become better inspired in blending it all together with my outfits. Today, I attempted to style it in a slick back and I must say, I have much more respect for folks who do this on a daily basis. Ladies, men have it difficult too when styling their hair. Personally, I found that achieving this style is much more difficult than curling my hair (that is when I still had the length to do so :P).

2

I lacked a texturizer but this proved to be more than sufficient for my first attempt.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

(Left to Right)

1) L’Oreal Hair Spray | 2) Rat Tooth Comb | 3) Gatsby Air & Rise Wax | 4) Hair Dryer


But what’s a slick back without an outfit to match? I have mentioned to several of my friends that I wish men’s clothing would be available in my size but as this is not the case, I have to settle for menswear inspired pieces to play with. What I love about menswear is the classic, clean and crisp silhouettes, giving space for attention to interesting patterns and textures in the fabrics. One of my favourite trends is ankle jeans paired with leather oxfords and a pair of vibrant socks.

1 SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

1) Button Down: FCUK | 2) Ankle Jeans: BDG from Urban Outfitters (similar here) | 3) Socks: Club Monaco | 4) Leather Oxfords: Arnold Churgin (similar here) | 5) Gargoyle Ring: Used House of Vintage Calgary

I had so much fun styling this whole ensemble and I must say, my efforts have not gone to waste as I’ve been turning heads this morning. Just have fun with it as fashion should be!

A plus tard et avec l’amour!

Leave a Reply

