Finding a Hair Salon

Moving to a new city is challenging in itself: settling down, finding new friends and of utmost importance, finding a hair stylist! I have always been experimental with my haircuts that it’s important to me that I find the right fit. After living here in Calgary for a few months, I’ve finally found my go-to stylist after three trials!


1st trial: Gina Hair Salon @ #18-1324 10th Ave SW

image (1)This haircut was impulsive and a walk-in. The hairstylist informed me that she was able to accommodate me, even without an appointment. I was truly ecstatic that day to find that out because I felt the awful need to get a haircut. At the moment, I was satisfied with my haircut but now that I look back, it was awfully executed and the service was mediocre. I cannot fully put the hairstylist into blame as it was a walk-in, however I would have preferred to have been denied the walk-in than receive dissatisfaction. Price paid was not worth what I received.

 


2nd trial: Fai Hair Design @ Suite 218-2066 18 Ave NE

C

Foremost, I apologize for not having a better picture of this haircut. However, I can say that I was more satisfied with this salon visit than the previous. This salon was recommended to me by my sister. She says that Fai specializes in Asian hair and therefore, proves himself to be a good hairstylist. I truly cannot deny this claim because I was very happy with the overall service. It is apparent that he is very experienced because he cuts quickly, but not at the pace of haste that finesse is absent. I would have returned to this salon but I wanted to at least try elsewhere before settling. Price was fair for the service received.


3rd trial: RedBloom Salon @ 638 11 Ave SW, Calgary

For days, I looked online to read reviews of hair salons and I decided to try out a more higher-end salon, that of which ended up to be RedBloom. The reason for this is that they offered $10 off for the first visit and this was enough of an incentive to try it out. As well, their hair stylists had short descriptions of their preferences and specialities. Wanting an asymmetrical haircut, quite a daring kind,A I went ahead to book an appointment with Amanda who claimed to enjoy ‘fun cuts’ (her hair looked cool too!)

Upon entering, the salon looked exquisite! I was taken back by the posh interior of zebra-coloured wallpaper, red chandelier and large mirrors. I was greeted with the choice of water, tea, or coffee and pampered by the unexpected scalp and shoulder massage prior to the haircut. As well, there was a long, but very informative consultation of my desired haircut. It was apparent that Amanda was well-experienced because it was as if she was reading my mind! She knew everything I wanted and was able to address my concerns before and after the cut: from length, after care and styling. She was the friendliest too!

The service great and I absolutely adore my haircut. As I’ve already mentioned, the price is a little on the higher side of things but I can no longer trust anyone else with my hair but Amanda after this piece she has well executed!

RedBloom even featured my transformation in their Instagram account!

A plus tard et avec l’amour!

Leave a Reply

